Home Page

Hayfield Lane Governing Body, Information and Duties

Governors of Hayfield Lane Primary



Hayfield Lane is supported by its board of Governors which under the terms of the 1998 Education Act is responsible for the curriculum and welfare of pupils, the school’s budget, staff appointments and the care of the buildings.


Structure of our Governing Body

There is one full Governing Body meeting each term at which issues are discussed and decisions made. The Governing Body is then split into two sub-committees: a Strategic Development Committee chaired by Kath Lister; and a Finance and Personnel Committee chaired by Rob Jenkinson. Each committee meets at least once a term. It has been decided that all Governors will attend all committee meetings to prepare for succession planning. Where necessary, the Governors are split into two smaller groups where it may be necessary for the decisions made to progress to an appeals panel.


The Governing Body of Hayfield Lane consists of:


  • Headteacher

  • Two parent Governors (appointed by parents)

  • One Local Authority Governor (appointed by the Local Authority)

  • One staff Governor (appointed by the school staff)

  • Four co-opted Governors (appointed by the Full Governing Body)


Chair of Governors

Kath Lister. Can be contacted through the school office.



Louise Tempest. Remains on the Governing Body as Headteacher.


Parent Governors

Rob Jenkinson – term of office 2nd May 2019 to 1st May 2023




Local Authority Governor

Kath Lister – term of office 2nd July 2020 to 1st July 2024


Staff Governor

Andrea Law – term of office 24th November 2019 to 23rd November 2023


Co-opted Governors

James Clark-Allan – term of office 11th February 2019 to 10thFebruary 2023

Alastair Gooderham – term of office 1st September 2019 to 31st August 2023

Sharon Toothill – term of office 10th November 2016 to 9th November 2020

Brendan Pell-Culshaw - term of office 10th February 2020 to 9th February 2024




Governors who have resigned/term of office has ended during the last 12 months

Kier Rhodes - term of office ended 12th October 2020

Kirstie Fenwick - term of office ended 13th October 2020



Governing Body Full Board Attendance 2019-20


Autumn Term Meeting 14th October 2019 – All Governors present except Kier Rhodes (apologies)

Spring Term Meeting 10th February 2020 – All present except Kirstie Fenwick and A Law (apologies)

Additional Virtual Meeting 27th May 2020 – All present except Kirstie Fenwick and Alastair Gooderham (apologies)

Summer Term Meeting 14th July 2020 (virtual meeting due to Covid-19) – All present except Kirstie Fenwick and Kier Rhodes (apologies)


Governing Body Full Board Attendance 2020-21


Autumn Term Meeting 12th October 2020 - All governors present except Sharon Toothill (apologies)



Register of Interests

From 1st September 2015, Governing Bodies of maintained schools have a duty to publish their register of interests. This register is required to include the following details:


Any business and pecuniary interests (as recorded in the register of interests) including:

  • Governance roles in other educational establishments
  • Any material interests arising from the relationships between Governors and school staff (including spouses, partners and close relatives)

    Please see below details of any interests declared by our current Governing Body for the academic year 2020-2021.


Name of Governor

Interest Declared

Louise Tempest


Kath Lister


 James Clark-Allan


Kirstie Fenwick




Alastair Gooderham

Pastor of Grace Church – hire the school hall each Sunday

  Rob Jenkinson 

 Governor at St Hugh's in Scunthorpe

Andrea Law


Kier Rhodes


Sharon Toothill



School Improvement Plan-Parents' Quick Glance version