Home Page

Curriculum Rationale

Rationale for the Curriculum

Curriculum Overview at Hayfield Lane Primary School



Foundation Stage


Our Robin (Nursery), Sparrow and Wren (Reception) classes follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum which is based on 7 areas of learning.



There are 3 Prime Areas of Learning which are:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development



There are also 4 Specific Areas of Learning:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Art and Design


All the children in the Foundation Stage take part in a variety of learning each day which is child initiated and adult led. Topics covered are based on children's interests as well as including major themes. For additional information on this, see the class pages for detailed overviews and termly parent letters.




Key Stage One is made up of Year 1 and 2 (Starling, Nightingales, Ducks and Kingfisher classes) and is for children aged 5-7 years. For their specific curriculum overviews, see the individual class pages.





Key Stage Two is made up of Year 3,4,5 and 6 (Owl and Swift, Hawk and Falcon, Kestrel and Swan, and Eagle Class) and is for children aged 7-11 years of age.



Both Key Stages follow the National Curriculum . We try to make this as interesting and engaging as possible by holding exciting Learning Hook events to kick start topics and ensure that topics are tailored to the interests of our children.